My Instrumentational ‘resources’

This post concerns itself with my thoughts around the musical ‘resources’ that I hope to include in my composition, namely which instruments I want to write for.

I knew that I wanted to write my piece for the orchestra and as such, feel it quite fitting to make sure that I include the following instruments (this list is not exhaustive and I may add to it):

WOODWIND:
Piccolo (1)
Flutes (2-4)
Oboes (2-4)
Cor Anglais (2)
Clarinets (2 in B-flat, 2 in E-flat)
Bassoon (2-4) – 1 will double the contrabassoon
Contrabassoon (1) – will double the bass trombone or the tuba an octave lower

BRASS:
French Horns (in F) (2-4)
Trumpets (in B-flat) (3-6)
Trombones (3-6)
Bass Trombone (1-2)
Tuba (1-2)

PERCUSSION:
(Unclear of the exact requirements at the moment, but definitely want to use these):
Timpani
Cymbals
Triangle
Glockenspiel
Xylophone
Vibraphone
Tubular Bells

KEYBOARDS:
Piano
Celeste

STRINGS:
Harp (1)
Violins – 1st (16)
Violins – 2nd (14)
Violas (12)
Cellos (10)
Double Basses (8)

It’s interesting having studied a couple of orchestral scores that within a very rich, dense texture, some instruments are not heard and I do wonder why they are included if they cannot be discerned.

Within a separate post, I will be analysing texture within scores to identify different scenarios that I like and would like to emulate within my orchestrations.

Leave a Reply

